Monday, May 16, 2016

Book Review: Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods

Summer of Supernovas, by Darcy Woods
2016, 352p, YA Contemporary Romance
My Rating=4 Stars
Source: Received a copy from the publisher for an honest review

Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.

When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love.

But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief.

Before Wilamena's ("Wil's") mother passed away, she taught her about astrology and made her promise to use her astrological chart, especially when it comes to love. Wil agreed and is currently obsessed with astrology and using it to find her perfect match. She meets a guy that she's interested in but follows the stars rather than her heart. Things get complicated when she meets her perfect astrological match and Wil finds herself with a tough decision to make.

This book was a fun, quick read! Wil is a bit quirky and unique. She's easy to like and cheer for. Her mother has passed away and she doesn't know her father. She currently lives with her Gram and they have a great relationship. It is, however, tested throughout the book as Wil starts to make more grown-up decisions and then later, learns a secret her Gram has been keeping from her. 

I liked both Grant and Seth, although there was one that was obviously better suited for her--she just needed to realize it. I'm not generally opposed to love triangles but this is my least favorite kind. It's just not going to end well. The other thing I didn't care for was a steamy scene towards the end which I didn't think was necessary for a YA novel. 

Overall, though, this is a fun read which ends happily and shows the importance of following your heart!

About Darcy Woods

Reading/writing YA is my oxygen.

I love funny. Funny ha-ha and funny weird. I also adore books that have kissy bits because love makes life's pointy edges more smooth. Cats, music, and lattes happen regularly in my home. Once upon a time I refueled helicopters for the US Army and threw live grenades. Now I throw words.

My Golden Heart-winning debut YA novel, SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS, comes out from Random House/Crown May 2016.


Post a Comment